A Letter Of Love On Your Birthday

 

Trey Celebrates # 9

My son Trey is turning nine today.  I’m not sure what I have to say about this except that I am a proud mamma who loves her boy with every ounce of her being.  Yes, I do know that like the rest of us, he is nowhere near perfect. Nonetheless, in my eyes,  “Trey Man” hung the moon.   Nine years ago today a 7lb 15oz boy who’s head must have weighed half of that, pushed his way into the world and into the hearts of all that were gathered to celebrate his birth.

 

I remember watching him as he was passed from one person to the next, and then finally back to me.  His eyes were deep brown and opened wide.  His face was filled with wonder and excitement. It was almost as if I was looking into the soul of a being so much more knowledgeable than me.  My dad was standing over the two of us and said, “ I remember when you looked at me that way for the first time.  It scared the hell out of me.”

Not so for me.  I saw in those eyes and on that face what I continue to see today… a sweet, tender-hearted young boy who has the care of the world written all over him.  I see a thoughtful, inspiring, intuitive, creative young soul who is still filled with all of the wonder and all of the excitement I saw on his face nine years ago today.

What a wonderful gift and privilege to be called your mother, Trey.  I love you so much and I am so proud of you.  Happy Birthday Dear One.

Love Mom

 

Leave a Reply

